top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicolas

Final Reflection

Nicolas Blanton

Mat Wenzel

ENC 2135-15

27 April 2018

Final Reflection

The first day of class was great. In fact, the first two weeks of class was amazing. I was excited to get into English and be done with it finally, all I had to do was pass this easy little English class. Then the I began to realize all the different assignments that I would have to complete before this was over. Well finally at the end I can say that it was not quite as horrible as I thought, but it could have definitely been easier.

Project one was easy. I did not get as good of a grade on it as I thought I deserved but I did not submit a revision. You pointed out that it was multiple stories that needed to be tied together and I thought they were tied together pretty well. Also, the story I was attempting to tell was very complex, so I had to brush over minute details. I did not try to revise it because I did not want to deal with the RWC. I attempted to use the RWC last semester and they were extremely difficult. If I could have just revised on my own, with the guidance of your comments, then I would have revised it 10 times if that’s what it took. Nevertheless, I said hell no to trying to utilize the RWC. It also seemed pointless to make us do that, I mean, we are college students. We should know how to revise with constructive criticism.

Project two is where I began to really struggle. If I could redo this semester then the one thing I would change is that I would choose another community. I am not very invested in the economics community, but I am becoming more involved. And that is what the information said about project two. I feel as though everyone else chose a community that they were fully a part of and that made it easier. So, either actually make them choose something that they are not fully involved in or change the syllabus, so it says a community you are currently involved with. That then ruins project one, but I will leave that up to you. My disassociation from my community made it very difficult to try and draw connections, because there were few. I would have chosen something else, anything else. I do not know what, but something other than economics to talk about. I love economics and I still want to major in it, but it was not good for this project. If I could have taken this class next semester then that would have been perfect.

Once I finally got project two figured out, project three was very fun as well. I liked being creative and making different media to communicate messages. It allowed me to explore my major and community further. It made me appreciate the small bits of information that lined up across the board. I wish project three had not been about the same community as project two though. I was so tired of struggling with project two that I just wanted to put it to rest. Instead I had to continue to trudge through the unorganized information that I called project two. I find it interesting that I got a higher grade on project two than project one, by the way. I felt as though project one was much better work.

I originally was very stressed out about the idea of the portfolio. I did not originally like having to manage a website and do weekly blog posts, but I found it not to difficult and ultimately the sit allowed me to organize my projects more effectively than anticipated. It made me very happy to realize that if I was late in getting an assignment completed it was okay. Because I could just go do it and submit it right after class let out and there were little to no repercussions. This is a luxury that I was not awarded, and then suffered from, in other classes.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #12 (P3)

Nicolas Blanton Mat Wenzel ENC 2135-15 20 April 2018 Project 3: Genre #1 BEA Blog Post The BEA analyzes the U.S. economy and releases monthly reports. These reports are made for quarterly sections, re

Blog Post #11

Nicolas Blanton Mat Wenzel ENC 2135-15 5 April 2018 I feel as though viral marketing is the most effective marketing. If an advertisement of some kind becomes very popular then that means, by definiti

Blog Post #10

Nicolas Blanton Mat Wenzel ENC 2135-15 21 March 2018 This Blog is just going to be a quick rant about Textbook requirements. I am very glad that we actually use our textbook, The Bedford Book of Genre

bottom of page