top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicolas

Blog Post #10

Nicolas Blanton

Mat Wenzel

ENC 2135-15

21 March 2018

This Blog is just going to be a quick rant about Textbook requirements. I am very glad that we actually use our textbook, The Bedford Book of Genres. However, not every class is this way. In total I have had to spend close to a thousand dollars on books this entire year. The BBG is the first one I have actually used. The rest I bought because I thought I would need them because they are “required reading” for the course. Meanwhile we were just expected to read the chapters that pertained to the material being covered in class. I did not realize this because quite frankly, the reading was not necessary to succeed in the course. So, I refrained from reading because it did not seem to add anything. I mean, maybe reading would have let me make a 99 instead of a 96 in a course, but I did not see any benefit. And this has been the case for nine of my last 11 courses. Lesson of the year: don’t buy the book until you have an actual assignment out of it. Save your time, save your money, and save your back from the weight of those useless bindings.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection

Nicolas Blanton Mat Wenzel ENC 2135-15 27 April 2018 Final Reflection The first day of class was great. In fact, the first two weeks of class was amazing. I was excited to get into English and be done

Blog Post #12 (P3)

Nicolas Blanton Mat Wenzel ENC 2135-15 20 April 2018 Project 3: Genre #1 BEA Blog Post The BEA analyzes the U.S. economy and releases monthly reports. These reports are made for quarterly sections, re

Blog Post #11

Nicolas Blanton Mat Wenzel ENC 2135-15 5 April 2018 I feel as though viral marketing is the most effective marketing. If an advertisement of some kind becomes very popular then that means, by definiti

bottom of page